## Preface

In: Miroslav Krbec and Alois Kufner (eds.): Nonlinear Analysis, Function Spaces and Applications, Proceedings of the Spring School held in Prague, May 31-June 6, 1998, Vol. 6. Czech Academy of Sciences, Mathematical Institute, Praha, 1999. pp. 5--6.

Persistent URL: http://dml.cz/dmlcz/702466

## Terms of use:

© Institute of Mathematics AS CR, 1999

Institute of Mathematics of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic provides access to digitized documents strictly for personal use. Each copy of any part of this document must contain these *Terms of use*.



This paper has been digitized, optimized for electronic delivery and stamped with digital signature within the project *DML-CZ: The Czech Digital Mathematics Library* http://project.dml.cz

## Preface

Since 1978 the Mathematical Institute of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic has been organizing in four years period, and in collaboration with other Czech institutions, the International Spring Schools

## Nonlinear Analysis, Function Spaces and Applications.

This sixth Spring School was organized in collaboration with the Czech University of Agriculture and was held at its campus in the northern outskirts of Prague. We want to thank to numerous members of the University staff for their friendly attitude to the School.

This volume contains contributions of all the eight invited speakers: V. I. Burenkov, F. Cobos, A. Cianchi, V. Maz'ya, L. Pick, H. Triebel, I. E. Verbitsky, and W. P. Ziemer. The electronic version of the Proceedings will be available at the URL http://www.emis.de/proceedings.

The list of short communications as well as the list of participants can be found at the end of this volume. The total number of participants was 92, they came from Argentina (1), Belgium (1), Canada (1), Czech Republic (17), Finland (7), France (1), Georgia (3), Germany (8), India (1), Italy (7), Japan (3), Poland (4), Portugal (1), Romania (1), Russia (6), Singapore (1), South Africa (1), Spain (17), Sweden (4), United Kingdom (2), USA (5).

The Organizing Committee consisted of P. Gurka (Czech University of Agriculture), M. Krbec, A. Kufner (Chairman), B. Opic, L. Pick, J. Rákosník (all Mathematical Institute), and A. Nekvinda (Czech Technical University).

We believe that this volume will be a useful up-to-date survey and a reflection of development of topics covered by the last Spring School.

We would also like to thank to Ms E. Hlavičková from the Mathematical Institute in Prague for her help during the preparation of this volume.

The 1998 Spring School took place twenty years after the first one in this series and this round number is a good occasion to recall the foregoing five Schools, which were organized at various places in the Czech Republic:

- 1978 Horní Bradlo
- 1982 Písek
- 1986 Litomyšl
- 1990 Roudnice nad Labem
- 1994 Prague.

The Proceedings of these Schools were published by the BSB B.G. Teubner Verlagsgesellschaft, Leipzig (Schools 1–4) and by the Prometheus Publishing House, Prague (School 5).

The 1994 volume can be found at the URL

http://www.emis.de/proceedings/Praha94/index.html

and a limited number of hard copies is also currently available in the library of the Mathematical Institute in Prague at the address library@math.cas.cz.

The main idea of the Spring Schools was to give participants deep and extensive picture about the latest developments and trends in its topics. Therefore, the organizers concentrated mainly on a smaller number of lecture series delivered by leading specialists. Let us recall the invited speakers at the foregoing Schools:

D. R. Adams (1986), A. Avantaggiati (1978), J. Ball (1982),

C. Baiocchi (1982), O. V. Besov (1986), V. I. Burenkov (1982),

J. Camus (1978), F. Chiarenza (1994), Yu. A. Dubinskii (1978),

D. E. Edmunds, (1978, 1990), J. García-Cuerva (1990),

M. Giaquinta (1982), J.-P. Gossez (1978), K. Gröger (1978),

K. Hadeler (1982), L. I. Hedberg (1986), H. P. Heinig (1986, 1990),

I. Hlaváček (1978), R. Johnson (1986), B. Kawohl (1994),

V. Kokilashvili (1990), L. D. Kudryavtsev (1986), H. Lange (1986),

P.-L. Lions (1982), F. J. Martín-Reyes (1994), A. McIntosh (1986),

V.G. Maz'ya (1982), J. Musielak (1986), V. Mustonen (1990),

L.E. Persson (1990), J. Peetre (1986), G.F. Roach (1990),

B. Ruf (1982), E. T. Sawyer (1994), C. G. Simader (1990),

I. V. Skrypnik (1982), V. D. Stepanov (1994), G. Talenti (1994),

H. Triebel (1978), S. K. Vodop'yanov (1990), J. R. L. Webb (1982),

R.L. Wheeden (1994).

We look forward to meeting participants of the next School in 2002.

The Editors